History of Beta Mu

Beta Mu is an award-winning chapter of the nursing honor society, Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI). The goals of Sigma Theta Tau are to stimulate superior achievement, creativity and leadership in nursing. Beta Mu Chapter is affiliated with The University of Arizona College of Nursing in Tucson, Arizona. Originally convened as the Professional Nursing Society in 1967, Beta Mu Chapter was established in 1974 with 148 charter members. Beta Mu members represent nursing leadership in Southern Arizona in clinical practice, education, service and research. Beta Mu Chapter is committed to improving nursing leadership and scholarship. Annually, the Chapter recognizes and distributes awards to nursing professionals and students who demonstrate excellence in activities that influence the health of our communities and the nursing profession. Furthermore, Beta Mu actively promotes the dissemination of knowledge and evidenced-based practice through educational presentations, research conferences and newsletters. Numerous Beta Mu members have represented the Chapter at the international level, including presentations at the biennial convention and volunteer activity in Kenya.  Beta Mu Chapter has been recognized for excellence as evidenced by the numerous chapter awards, including 13 chapter key awards, the chapter giving club and best website in October 2019.