History of Beta Mu

Beta Mu is an award-winning chapter of the nursing honor society, Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI). The goals of Sigma Theta Tau are to stimulate superior achievement, creativity and leadership in nursing. Beta Mu Chapter is affiliated with The University of Arizona College of Nursing in Tucson, Arizona. Originally convened as the Professional Nursing Society in 1967, Beta Mu Chapter was established in 1974 with 148 charter members. Beta Mu members represent nursing leadership in Southern Arizona in clinical practice, education, service and research. Beta Mu Chapter is committed to improving nursing leadership and scholarship. Annually, the Chapter recognizes and distributes awards to nursing professionals and students who demonstrate excellence in activities that influence the health of our communities and the nursing profession. Furthermore, Beta Mu actively promotes the dissemination of knowledge and evidenced-based practice through educational presentations, research conferences and newsletters. Numerous Beta Mu members have represented the Chapter at the international level. Several members are Virginia Henderson Fellows as a result of their exemplary financial contributions to Sigma Theta Tau.

Beta Mu Chapter is honored to have not only six members who have been selected as recipients of the prestigious Founders Awards but to have been selected for this award as a Chapter on two occasions. Biennially Sigma Theta Tau recognizes six preeminent nurses and a chapter or their contributions to science in celebration of their achievements.

The awards are a tribute to the six founding nurses of Sigma Theta Tau and the director of nursing at Indiana University who established the nursing honor society.

Beta Mu Chapter has been recognized for excellence as evidenced by the numerous chapter awards.